Help Needed with a New Build

Status
Not open for further replies.

BillAllen55

I have put together a new build and have got it to the splash screen.
When attempting to install Windows XP It gives the message the installation has been stopped to protect hardware. I have all of the particulars in my profile. All of the info is recent.
I'm very new to building a new system would appreciate using the English language (laymens terms) if possible. The problem I have is that when it attempts to install Windows XP home edition it will load all of the necessary drivers then when it prepares to install the OS it gives me the referenced stop message. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

bump

The copy of xp you are trying to install is one that was originally bundled with a different computer ? or is it brand new OEM.After finishing my build I discovered that my original xp disc would not load onto new system because its sku# was associated with a different computer thus requiring me to buy a new copy.However I feel I might have saved a few bucks if I called microsoft support and kindly asked them to change my old disk's association so that I could install. Give MS a call and see what they can do for you.

this will be the third time i've changed my certified copy of XP to an new system. went from original motherboard to an alt motherboard now going from the alt motherboard to a totally different build altogether. I'm not sure I understand as the computer is not hooked up to cable yet. I'm not sure what you are saying as to what Microsoft could do to assist?

I have another computer in which I'm using to get tech assist I'm not sure what you are saying when saying to install an XP on that computer as it is already there.
I'm saying I can't get the XP to load on my new computer. Getting all types of error message in the blue stop screen. BSOD