Help with upgrading-Intel Core 2 Duo E6300 or Pentium 4 3.0

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi,

I am new to the upgrading buzz after recently replacing my DVD writer. Prior to this I had never opened a case before despite using a PC on a near daily basis for the past 5 years. I would now like to upgrade my existing computer, and would like to hear your thoughts, advice and suggestions. The reason for upgrading is that I like to do some video editing (Premiere Elements), not every day, but often enough to know my computer needs some upgrades. I like to multitask and have more than one application running at once, i.e firefox, premiere elements, itunes...

My specs: MSI P4m800 + 8237R Chipset Motherboard with a Celeron D 2.66GHz CPU. 512MB DDR RAM, 80gig Hard Drive

My main question relates to upgrading the CPU. What would give me more "bang for my buck"? An Intel Core 2 Duo E6300, 1.86GHz LGA775 or an Intel Pentium 4 630 3.0GHz Socket 775??? They are roughly the same price in my country (New Zealand).

I would also like to get a graphics card. My gaming experience has being limited to a trial version of Rise of Nations but I would like to get a little more adventurous. What graphics card (AGP) do you suggest is in the "sweet sport" right now? Any reason to choose one brand over another (GeFroce vs nVidia etc)??? Go graphics card improve video editing or is the improvement more in gaming? I will still do more video editing than gaming.

Finally, any thought of hard drive brands? I have heard some users have had some poor experiences with Western Digital and being told to stick with Seagate?

I thank you all in advance for taking a couple of minutes out of your day to share your hint, tip, suggestion, advice, feedback with me.

Bruce

P4m800 + 8237R is your chipset and AFAIK that chipset doesn't support anything higher than a 3.4GHz P4. It will not support a Core 2.

hello and welcome to techspot

I greatly recommend E6300 if you're willing over it.