home networking help

Status
Not open for further replies.

nate39

I have two questions. 1. I just set up my old computer to network with my main one. I seem to be able to access the older one (via board) from my main computer (939) but when I try to access the other way around I get a message that says not enough server storage to process this command. I have little experience with networking so please help.

2. Is there a program that allows you to go into another computer on a network and basically see it on your desktop and use its programs? thanks

Can you tell us which OS you are using, the last time I saw a message about server storage, it was either that the service pack needing reinstalling, on NT or that the RPC isnt running on 2K.

As for question 2: yes there are several programs such as PCAnywhere, Dameware Mini Remote (my fave) Netop etc .

Each has its merits and faults and so is a personal choice, do a google on the subject

Jud

thanks, I am using xp home on the main system and xp pro on the other one.

Both have xp 2 and fully updated

try logging on home with same user name and pass as the pro
xp pro is trying to take over as the main server???
M$ says to (not a quote)
Resolution:
1) The registry value IRPstackSize may be not explicitly present. To increase the value of the parameter, go to the key HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\ LanmanServer\Parameters. If the key is not present, choose Add Value in the Registry Editor. The Value Name should be IRPStackSize and the Data Type is REG_DWORD.
2) Remove any unnecessary entries from this value in the registry, HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\LanmanServer\Parameters\NullSessionPipes.
3) If the machine has a non-zero PagedPoolSize in the Registry, you need to re-set it by going to HKEY_LOCALMACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager\Memory Management and double-click on PagedPoolSize and set to 0.