How do I slow down my RAM on Asus A8V Deluxe?

Status
Not open for further replies.

dugawug

i have 2GB dual channel of this RAM: http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/searchtools/item-detailsInactive.asp?Sku=K24-5824

and an Asus A8V Deluxe mobo.

i've had the BSOD quite a bit and my minidumps seem to suggest RAM problems.

using one stick alone, either one, i seem to have no problems. a friend suggested that maybe slowing down the RAM might help it run without the BSOD.

but i'm a newbie...i see a ton of settings in the BIOS for RAM and am not sure what to do!!

like CAS, TRC, TRFC, TRCD, TWR, TRWT, TRAS, TRP, TWCL and more...
they are all currently set to AUTO

what is the best way for me to tweak these settings?

help is appreciated!!

If the RAM is set to auto then the timings are already very conservative and it would be unlikely that setting them any lower would do any good. Auto means the board goes right to the RAM and accesses an onboard chip (the SPD) that tells the board what speed to run RAM at. These settings are very conservative so as to run stably on all boards.

It may be that you have a hogh temperature problem with the CPU or the PSU isn't up to the task. What are your specs, specifically the PSU name and wattage as well as amps on the 12v rail, CPU type, motherboard name and model, video card(s), and all peripherals. Also, can you get a temp reading off the CPU during heavy load.

it's a brand new system i built, my first, but was helped with a friend whose done 100's of machines from scratch.

XP Pro SP2
Asus A8V Deluxe
AMD 64 3500+
Zalman copper heatsink
2GB (1gbx2) 400mhz DDR Kingston value ram 184 pin
Antec Sonata II with Smartpower 2 400w P/S
2 Barracuda SATA HD's, 7200RPM
3dconnect radeon 9550GE video card
Plextor DVD burner

i had my minidumps examined on this site and he suggested my frequent BSOD's were from faulty RAM.