How reorganize hard drive without causing problems with installed programs?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jledoux

I'm pretty new to this stuff so bear with me! My computer has 2 hard drives: 40GB and 200GB. The 40GB came with the machine when I bought it 4 years or so ago. It has a single partition and therefore has WinXP home on it as well as lots of programs. I installed the 200GB drive so I could edit videos. Now my 40GB drive is almost out of space and I'd like to reorganize things (by the way, I have Acronis Disk Director 10 and True Image 9 to help me do this). Ideally, I'd like to end up with WinXP in its own partition, preferably on the faster 200 GB drive. I would also like to have all my programs installed in their own partition (different than the C drive). However, I assume that if I repartition the hard drive so that the programs have a different drive letter, they won't work. Is there any way to do this or am I stuck with my programs being on the C drive (unless I want to uninstall and reinstall all of them)? Or is there another way around this problem? Thanks.

not too difficult

What you want to do might be relatively easy, but there are potential pitfalls and if you are not too experienced, you might get into a lot of trouble and lose everything. Be sure to have complete backups before you start.

You need to take the 200Gb hard drive and shorten the partition on it to say 150Gb. Then make a copy of your existing C: drive on the released space of the 200Gb. using Fdisk or similar, mark the c: drive hidden, and on the 200Gb mark the c:drive copy as active. Swap the drives (dont forget to change the 200Gb to primary if it is not already primary).

You probably then have to do something to update the MBR on the 200Gb before Windows will boot. Refer to www.techspot.com/vb/all/windows/ t-10428-XP--Changing-the-boot-drive.html