How to select an upgrade for Nvidia GeForce2 MX 400

Ilya

Hello, everyone.
I have a rather old Dell computer with a Nvidia GeForce2 MX 400 graphics card. I want to upgrade it because it is about to die...however, as far as I know (I'm a newbie in all this stuff), not all cards match a particular motherboard, especially an old one, so how do I choose one that WOULD work? Any suggestions?
Thanks in advance.

You will have to check the type of expansion slots that you have on your system (PCI/PCI-E/AGP). I presume the GeForce 2 MX400 is an AGP card.

For a new GPU you'll also probably have to change your power supply unit.

The GeForce 2 MX400 is a standard pci card, so any pci graphics adapter should do. Just make sure it isn't a pci-e (pci express). I hope this helps you out.

Here's one that would be a major upgrade to what you currently have there. I don't know what you're willing to spend though. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814139038

edit: I should also ask you what size power supply you have, as the example I linked to requires a minimum 400w psu. I'm assuming your Dell is from around 2000-2002, and that it probably doesn't have a very powerful psu. Don't worry though, there are still plenty of options to choose from :grinthumb

@Wendig0 - How are you so sure it's a PCI card. I've come up with a number of MX400s which have an AGP interface. It seems there are both PCI and AGP versions of this card. So the OP will have to determine that first...

@Wendig0 - How are you so sure it's a PCI card. I've come up with a number of MX400s which have an AGP interface. It seems there are both PCI and AGP versions of this card. So the OP will have to determine that first...

Well now I'm not so sure since you said that. In the search I did, I only came up with PCI. My mistake it seems