How to tell VGA cables apart?

Status
Not open for further replies.

mattfrompa

I was thinking about this the other day, how even though in marketing VGA, XGA SXGA, UXGA, WXGA, WSXGA, WUXGA all seem to be labeled "VGA" ports and cables, dispite their significantly different display capabilities. I have done some searching, but still don't know how to tell specifically what kind of ports and cables I have. I would have guessed that the max resolution I can display would be some kind of indication, although my display adapter can display beyond my monitor's capabilities. Is there any easy way to physically distinguish the cables from one another?

I worked as a monitor tech for 12 years and for these connector types, it's the cards frequency ranges and not the connector, that determines the output... I think that these connectors are physically the same, minus or plus some pins

Alphabet Soup......

The various letter combinations, WUXGA and the like, are actually expressing the monitors native or maximum resolution. For instance, SXGA is 1280 X 1024. The "W" in front of the letter sequence indicates wide screen.
VGA is actually a resolution size also, 640 X 480, but it's so small it's not used any more in computer monitors. That's the same resolution as standard (NTSC) American television.

However, VGA is also used when referring to the basic monitor cable. It's normally 15 pins, blue, and has a trapezoid shape with 2 thumb screws to hold it in place. It's also correctly called a "D-Sub" connector.. VGA/ D-Sub is the ANALOG connection from computer to monitor.

Now, I don't know if I'd go along with "deceptive", but the practice of giving a set of code letters to every possible monitor resolution standard, can seem a bit frivolous at times.