I need a new video card

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey guys,

im looking to get another video card, because my current one is slow. I'm looking forward to play games like wow, grand theft auto, and the Sims 2. The main problem is, that i don't know what kind of card I should get.

Can anyone help me please? I'm a newbie when it comes to computers.

The first and main questionis.... what kind of slot do you have open? PCI, AGP, or PCI express. If you don't know off hand you can check your computer documentation or give us the exact make and model number and maybe we (all of us here) can find out.

Second questions is what are you willing to spend?

Third question is are you willing to upgrade your power supply to get the graphics you want? Most pre-built pc's (HP, Dell, etc...) come with power supplys that can't handle the extra load that a new g card needs. The power supply can fail (not always right away) and take your mobo with it. This may be a moot question if your comp only has PCI slots open as they don't require nearly as much power.

GeForce 7 series as well as GeForce 6 series (preferably 6800) will handle WoW and GTA. For ATI equivalents, the X series (X850), and the X1K series (preferably X1800 or higher) should run those games fine. Just use
www.newegg.com and you should have no problem finding these cards.

Sorry for the very late reply.

Sorry for taking soooo long to reply. I've been busy with my school. I asked my brother about this machine's specs, here they are:
Intel P4 2.8 mhz
ECS P4M890T-M2 motherboard
512 memory
120 hard drive

fortunately, this is not a pre-built pc. My brother built it :)

I can spend now up to $120 maximum. No more;)
Thank you guys:bounce:

Thanks, but can you find me a cheaper card?? I don't trust rebates. I haven't had luck with them ;)

Also, what about my power unit? How do I know if it's good enough?