Internet stops working on dynamic and static IP

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi all, this is my first post on this website cos i've looked around and can't find an answer to this problem. Please be kind if i've missed anything important out cos im not very good at this and don't know really what is relevant.

I have a belkin wireless router in my house which 4 of us are using. I have plugged it in fine and run the set up CD to get it all sorted and it seemed to work fine.
The problem started when i tried to download or watch videos online. The connection seemed to drop off which stopped the download or buffering without it saying it was finished. I also could not access web pages for about a minute and then they would work again but the download would sit at whatever percentage it got too and not continue (I left it for a few hours once.)
I went on to the router ip by typing 192.168.2.1 and the belkin router setup appears. I changed the connection type to static and it restarted then worked fine. I was able to download and buffer videos fine, as was everyone else. Then it stopped working again. Pages would not load no matter how long i waited.
I went back to set up and changed to dynamic again, which worked like before, then changed to static. I worked again but a few days later, same problem.
At the moment i have to do this every 2 or 3 days and i was hoping you guys could shed some light on the problem.
Any help would be appreciated, thanks

Checked the latest firmware before i posted, probably should have mentioned that. Everything is up to date as far as i know.
I'll check that other link now, thanks

edit:
Just checked that link and all the pinging it tells me to do seems to check out.
only thing i noticed is that it said the router/gateway should be 192.168.xx.xx but mine says 77.97.118.1 if thats any clue?