IP configuration problem

So, suddenly my internet stopped working (im using lan adapters you put in the socket). I ****ed up I think, I was dicking around and I manually changed the ip, subnetmasker and the default gateway to what my laptop has. I copied the dns server adres too, and I made an adres up for the alternative dns server. This obviously didnt do jack ****

So I changed the properties back to "automatically assign ip adres" and I went into cmd, I typed "ipconfig/all". It now shows NO default gateway, and it shows the ip that I copied from my laptop, the dns servers show: fec0:0:0:ffff: : 1%1
Fec0:0:0:ffff: :2%1
Fec0:0:0:ffff: :3%1
Now, I would realy like some help here, since im not a computer expert (as you probably could tell). Ask me what you need to know!
 
Last edited by a moderator:
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #2
Anyone? I think a mod moved my thread to "networking", why is it moved from "free tech support" -->software, to networking?
 

jobeard

Posts: 13,902   +1,764
"Fec0:0:0:ffff: :3%1" is an IPv6 address which almost all home users do not need or use.
A normal home user would see ipconfig results like:
Code:
Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

  Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : socal.rr.com
  Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller
  Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : xx-xx-xx
  DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
  Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
  Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::7039:54d7:8868:7fc7%13(Preferred)  <<ignored
  IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.5(Preferred)    << what we need
  Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
  Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, April 28, 2015 8:11:27 AM
  Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, June 06, 2151 5:07:36 PM
  Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1    << because our router is here too
  DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
  DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 438613757
  DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . :xx-xx-xx
  DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 209.18.47.61
  209.18.47.62
  NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
 
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #4
Okay thanks
"Fec0:0:0:ffff: :3%1" is an IPv6 address which almost all home users do not need or use.
A normal home user would see ipconfig results like:
Code:
Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

  Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : socal.rr.com
  Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller
  Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : xx-xx-xx
  DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
  Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
  Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::7039:54d7:8868:7fc7%13(Preferred)  <<ignored
  IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.5(Preferred)    << what we need
  Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
  Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, April 28, 2015 8:11:27 AM
  Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, June 06, 2151 5:07:36 PM
  Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1    << because our router is here too
  DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
  DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 438613757
  DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . :xx-xx-xx
  DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 209.18.47.61
  209.18.47.62
  NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
Okay thanks for responding: so what do I try now? As said, I dont see a default gateway, so and I also do not have an legit dns server adres? I cant realy copypaste my cmd here, since im posting this via my phone (pc has no internet :)) this al started when my pc troubleshooting said my ip configuration was wrong by the way, I think I didnt mention that.
 
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #6
Ok - - no internet at home - - you must then be using a cell-tower connection??
.
No man, we have wifi, only my LAN connection to my pc is not working, when I build my pc, I purposly didnt put in s network card because I knew I would be using a LAN cable because my router is downstairs and my pc is in the attic (barely any wifi there).
 

jobeard

Posts: 13,902   +1,764
This is difficult without any access for the pc.

You need to access every tab in the
Local Area Connection
Code:
go to Properties,
scroll to Internet Protocol Version 4 and select
then click the properties button.

The general tab is obvious; select the first (*) radio button in each category
Then click the Advanced button at the bottom and you get three more tabs.
(1) IP Settings
*should show DHCP Enabled
*Gateway should be empty
(2) DNS
*both boxed areas should be empty
(*) append primary DNS suffixes
[x] append parent suffixes

[x] register this connection's address in theDNS
(3)WINS
[x] enable LMHOSTS lookup

NetBIOS settings
(*) Default


Click Alternative Configuration Tab
use (*) Automatice private IP
With the PC wired to the router, wait 30 seconds and run ipconfig /all and look at the very top:
Code:
Windows IP Configuration
  Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : JeffPC7
  Primary Dns Suffix  . . . . . . . :
  Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid      <<< these
  IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No       <<< are 
  WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No    <<< important
  DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : socal.rr.com
 
  • Like
Reactions: dkbroadband
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #8
Thank you so much for trying to help me, I checked your whole list and everything seems to be same, only after I run ipconfig/all it does NOT show:
DNS Suffix search list....: socal.rr.com
 
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #9
Im sorry, my cmd is in dutch.. if you know how to change it to english, or if you need translation, just let me know!
 

jobeard

Posts: 13,902   +1,764
Thank you so much for trying to help me, I checked your whole list and everything seems to be same, only after I run ipconfig/all it does NOT show:
DNS Suffix search list....: socal.rr.com
yes; socal.rr.com is per MY isp and yours will be different, but still present :)
 
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #14
Im still trying to upload a picture to clarify the situation, but its hard doing it from my phone
 

jobeard

Posts: 13,902   +1,764
Again, the IMPORTANT settings are:
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid <<< these
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No <<< are
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No <<< important
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.5(Preferred) << what we need
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1 << because our router is here too
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1 <<whatever your router is
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 209.18.47.61 << usually these two are related to YOUR isp
209.18.47.62
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
 
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #16
For some reason it is impossible to upload pictures to this site. That way I cant show you what my cmd looks like. Can you maybe drop your email and I can try to emaip them?im sorry this is so inconvenient
 
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #19
Windows IP Configuration
Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Martijn-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet-adapter for bluetooth-networkconnection:

Mediumstatus......: medium disconnected
etc.....
 
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #20
And this is what is says under "ETHERNET-adapter for LAN connection:"

Ethernet-adapter for LAN-connection:

Connectionspec. DNS-suffix:
Description:..........................:Realtek PCIe GBE Family controller
Physical adres.....................:E0-3F-49-0E-4E-FE
DHCP enabled.....................:yes
Auto. configuration enabled.:yes
Link-local IPv6-adres...........:fe80::60ed:7319:8c3a:b5e0%11 (preferred)
Auto. config. IPv4-adres.......:169.254.181.224 (preferred)
Subnetmasker......................: 255.255.0.0
Default gateway....................:
DHCPv6 IAID......................:249577289
DHCPv6-client DUID..........:00-01-00-01-1A-A2-0F-73-E0-3F-49-0E-4E-FE
DNS server..........................:fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
NetBIOS via TCPIP.............:enabled



I think I got all the important one, if I mistranslated words (my cmd was in dutch) ill try to translate them correctly. I hope that this fixes things
 

jobeard

Posts: 13,902   +1,764
This is the issue --> "Auto. config. IPv4-adres.......:169.254.181.224 (preferred)"
the 169.254.x.x is a default address and it tells us that the DHCP request to the router did not
get a reply as that would have given you both the IP & the DNS addresses.

Simple questions: Make/model number of your router?
did you ever update the router firmware?
can other devices connect to it?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Clappie
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #22
Thank you for replying to me again! It is a huawei router, its the: HUAWEI HG655d
I dont think I updated the router firmware.

Other devices can connect to the router, such as my phone and my parents laptop
 

jobeard

Posts: 13,902   +1,764
Ok, that should isolate the issue to your PC.
The network and sharing icon shown upload_2015-5-6_7-25-21.png,
click and the open Network Sharing Center
you get something like upload_2015-5-6_7-27-49.png
BUT instead of the little house, what do you have between the PC & the Internet?
 

Attachments

  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #24
Between the pc and internet it shows two pc's behind eachother (both are grey) with a yellow triangle (with an exclamation mark on it) to the left of them
 

jobeard

Posts: 13,902   +1,764
Driver issue;
control panel -> Admin tools -> Computer Mgmt
click Device Mgmt
[+] expand Network Adapters

you will see the yellow marker; note the labeling on the device.
double click this device, go to Driver tab, record
  • Provider
  • date
  • version
get a thumb drive, go anywhere you can get an Internet connection,
google the Provider, find the device that matches yours and find the driver - - should be more recent than yours. download to the thumb drive so you can take it home and install it.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Clappie