Is this a motherboard problem?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I built my machine about 2 and a half years ago based around a Gigabyte GA-8S655FX-L motherboard (socket 478) with a P4 2.4 GHz processor. I am not an experienced techie and I have no sophisticated test equipment.

It went wrong a few weeks ago and having considered several possibilities (see below) I am fairly sure that it is the motherboard or processor at fault. My feeling from reading other fault reports is that it is more likely to be the motherboard. I don’t have much cash and so I would not be too happy buying a new motherboard and then finding out the fault was the processor – though I realise there may be no way round this.

I would be grateful for any comments after reading my description below and any advice on whether there is anything else worth trying before buying a new motherboard. Also any comments on the likelihood of its being the processor rather than the motherboard.

Problem Description

After switching on there is power as the fans operate, at least one LED is lit and there is power to the USB optical mouse (the laser shows red). So power supply OK.

There are no POST messages or beeps, and there is no attempt to boot from an inserted floppy. The lack of beeps or boot reading of floppy would seem to rule out the video card.

I have replaced the CMOS battery with a new one (leaving the battery removed for some time so that I get the default BIOS).

Removing memory modules makes no difference. (Still no POST or beep).

I have tried making sure all connectors and cards are firmly seated.

Any comments would be much appreciated.
Ken

One thing you could do is check to see if any of the chips on the mobo are heating up quickly with your finger. Not exactly scientific but it can often pinpoint a failed ic.
Also check all the capacitors for doming or leaking.