Laptop cannot access the Internet unless it is hooked to the modem

Kallettla

Posts: 52   +0
Toshiba laptop. Internet at the bottom right says there is a connection available, but says the settings saved on this computer for the network do not match the requirements of the network. It has to be plugged in to the modem to access Internet. Speakers do not work. Ports do not work either. I had it in for repair and he thought it might be the motherboard, but he couldn't fix the other one and I got help with Broni on here and it works fine now. I am hoping someone on here can help me fix this one. It has no viruses; it's clean. Thanks!
 

jobeard

Posts: 13,934   +1,770
Ok, the modem=>pc config working says networking is at least sane.

To get the modem=>router=>pc to work, the pc should not have ANY configuration data stored in the network adapter settings. Can you find and clear the network adapter for yourself?
 

Kallettla

Posts: 52   +0
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #3
Hi...I am very basic when it comes to computers, very. I don't know how to find the network adapter. I need step by step instructions. Can I find it doing search? THX
 

jobeard

Posts: 13,934   +1,770
You need to be logged in as the Admin.
Connect the Modem-->Router-->PC and wait 30 seconds

right-click the internet connection in the system tray which gives you this
upload_2014-12-10_7-23-41.png
CLICK on the Change Adapter

Dbl-Click on the Local Area Connection->Properties and scroll to (TCP/IPv4) select it and then click Properties
there are two choices beginning Obtain ... choose both of them.
click the Advanced button at the bottom right and see three tabs
* IP settings shows DHCP enabled & default Gateway must be empty
* DNS should show no settings but have the choice (*) Append primary and connection specific DNS suffixes
[x] Register this connection's address in the DNS​
* WINS has NetBIOS setting (*) Default
click OK taking you back to the GENERAL TAB​
click on the tab Alternate Config and choose Automatic
click OK and that is back to the Local Area
click CLOSE once
Almost done - - click DIAGNOSE

you should have no issues at the end
 

Kallettla

Posts: 52   +0
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #5
Hi...Those were excellent instructions. You made it easy to follow, but it didn't work.
Do you have a Plan B?
 

jobeard

Posts: 13,934   +1,770
That effort ENSURED we didn't have a malconfigured adapter.

Now then, with modem->router->pc

get a command prompt (start->search and enter CMD and hit enter)
you get a b/w window into which you type IPCONFIG /ALL >MYTCP.TXT
output can be then be seen with NOTEPAD %USERPROFILE%\MYTCP.TXT

With that data displayed, COPY it all and come back to this thread
and PASTE the data as your reply
 

Kallettla

Posts: 52   +0
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #7
I copied and pasted this in CMD; IPCONFIG /ALL >MYTCP.TXT Nothing happened and I see nothing in notepad. Please advise. Thank you.
 

Kallettla

Posts: 52   +0
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #9
Windows IP Configuration
Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : WIN-TVQ14HQ72GE
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : Home
Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:
Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 70-F1-A1-55-99-DF
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:
Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8191SE Wireless LAN 802.11n PCI-E NIC
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 70-F1-A1-55-99-DF
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Home
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-26-6C-6B-A6-BA
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::f9bb:4e33:4400:ea82%10(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.10(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, December 15, 2014 8:59:28 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, December 22, 2014 8:59:28 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 234890860
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-16-0C-3D-E5-00-26-6C-6B-A6-BA
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
Tunnel adapter isatap.hsd1.ma.comcast.net.:
Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:5ef5:79fd:20f9:3e3f:3f57:fef5(Preferred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::20f9:3e3f:3f57:fef5%19(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
Tunnel adapter isatap.{909957B8-690E-4E77-9AFC-D27297ADEBCE}:
Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Tunnel adapter isatap.Home:
Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Home
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #5
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Tunnel adapter isatap.{2ABD5BE6-D125-424C-B162-494D7ED2E4A3}:
Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #6
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
 

jobeard

Posts: 13,934   +1,770
The salient portion of all that is this:
Code:
Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Home
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-26-6C-6B-A6-BA
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::f9bb:4e33:4400:ea82%10(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.10(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, December 15, 2014 8:59:28 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, December 22, 2014 8:59:28 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 234890860
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-16-0C-3D-E5-00-26-6C-6B-A6-BA
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
everything looks normal for TCP. The Default Gateway is also the DHCP and DNS server addresses, which says your router has the real configuration from the ISP Wan site settings - - also normal.

if you perform TRACERT 8.8.8.8
the first line will be your local router 192.168.1.1
and line two will be your ISP's gateway address.
  1. can you at least get to line (2) from tracert?
  2. most importantly, does the last line show [8.8.8.8]
if so, then tcp routing is doing fine.

Now test your system to resolve a DNS name into a real IP address:

in the command prompt window, enter NSLOOKUP 8.8.8.8
you should see:
Code:
nslookup 8.8.8.8
Server:  dns-cac-lb-01.rr.com
Address:  209.18.47.61   <== this is my dns, your's will be differend

Name:  google-public-dns-a.google.com  <== but you must get this name
Address:  8.8.8.8 <== for this address
and nslookup google-public-dns-a.google.com must return
Code:
Non-authoritative answer:
Server:  dns-cac-lb-01.rr.com
Address:  209.18.47.61

Name:  google-public-dns-a.google.com
Addresses:  2001:4860:4860::8888
  8.8.8.8
 

Kallettla

Posts: 52   +0
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #11
I did the former instructions and have a new administrator. The computer is acting the same as it has. Will try to do the next instructions. This is all very foreign to me.
 

Kallettla

Posts: 52   +0
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #12
I did the tracert. I got to line 8 but I cannot remember the results because they are there and gone and I don't know what to look for them to copy and paste them to you. I don't think that the last line had a series of 8's in it. If you want I will do it again and try to handwrite the results.
 

Kallettla

Posts: 52   +0
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #13
It says default servers unavailable. Nothing like what you thought it would say.
 

Kallettla

Posts: 52   +0
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #15
OK. I don't know what this means, but I do not like the sigh. Is that anything like DNR (do not resuscitate)? Tell me more....
 

jobeard

Posts: 13,934   +1,770
anything like DNR (do not resuscitate)?
Almost :giggle;

It means your TCP configurations is bogus and needs to be rectified.

login as Admin, get the command prompt and enter these:
  • netsh winsock reset catalog
  • netsh int ip reset reset.log
  • netsh winsock reset

then reboot
 

Kallettla

Posts: 52   +0
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #17
Oh, so you are very funny.

I did as you said. The first and third were successful. The second said no user specified settings to be reset.

I rebooted. Internet still doesn't work. What is next?