Laptop HDD Questions

Hi everyone! I just have a couple quick questions and anyone who can give me some good, correct info, will have my undying thanks and if I can help with your issues, I will gladly offer my advice.

Firstly, I would like to say that I am not a novice when it comes to comps, so don't feel like you have to "dumb it down" for me; as long as the spelling is mostly correct, we're good. LOL

Secondly, I think I should explain the hardware/software that I am dealing with here. I own a first generation (2008) touchscreen HP Pavilion tx2635us Entertainment Notebook PC and I have been having issues with it since it was about 6 months old. It had probs with overheating, over-clocking, and eventually would randomly black out, no matter how long it was on for. According to HP's Support and Forums, the machine has a major design flaw, in which the heat sink does not have enough copper to safely transfer heat back and forth between the cpu and graphics card, which causes major damage to the motherboard. For about 4 years, a much longer life than most see, I babied this thing until about a month ago, it lined out completely. My boyfriend then took my main hard drive out and put it in his tower as another backup drive and so I can have all my files. Eventually, I do want to get a new motherboard so I can put all the good parts of it into a tower by itself.

Here are my questions:

Now that it is not a boot drive, can I move what I want to save onto another drive and then format all the Windows, HP, and drivers crap off of it so I can have all that space back?

And if I am able to do that, when I am able to build my tower with all the laptop parts, will I have to put all of the "boot drive" files back on it before or after I put it together?

And will I be able to use the same Windows 7 64 bit key or will I have to buy a whole 'nother one?