Laptop Mouse solution greatly needed..

Status
Not open for further replies.
Okay, so I'm new here and I have a tech problem. Please, I'd like to say in advance, that when responding explain it in layman's terms, and as detailed as you can be, because I'm new at this.

So I have a laptop computer, a Toshiba Satellite Pro 6100 model, with XP/PS2. It's not a touchpad mouse, but uses the one blue thing in the center, that looks like a nipple (best way to describe it). One moment it was working fine, the next moment it stopped working. The cursor started flashing on one corner of my screen, or it would start traveling all over the board on it's own, now it's stuck going only up and down. I tried to use a usb mouse, that only works for a limited time and then it goes back to acting out of wack. and is stuck only going up and down. The cursor on the screen.

I checked both devices and their both working properly apparently. I've turned the computer on and off and it still doesn't work. I don't know if I have to use the reprogramming disks to probably help if it's some software complication. I want to mention about a year ago this had occurred and I had to return it to the tech guys to fix it, when I was still in warranty. But now I'm not in warranty and it's a bit pricey to fix it, when I want to see if I can do it myself, or if I'd have to take it to a tech guy.

If anyone here can help me, I'd be really grateful, thanks in advance.

VB

It sounds like "the nipple" (hehe, nice one) is stuck... But first, lets rule out a software problem. Go to start>settings>control panel>mouse. Make sure all settings are correct. My settings are:

clicklock off
swap mouse buttons off
scheme: windows default
enhance on
snap to off
visibility off on off
hardware: make sure right mouse is selected.

If this is all right, I dont think its a software problem.

You may have to open the laptop up and "unstuck" the nipple

Regards,

Korrupt

korrupt said: