Looking for a good monitor

You wont get a definitve answer i bet, cause there are different needs for everyone, like are you using it for photo editing, gaming or films etc ?
If you give the main uses for the monitor i am sure someone will give plenty of ideas,

I have just bought a Hanns-G HZ281 and its a brilliant monitor for the money ;) i do photo edditing and 3D animation and rendering.

So the Hanns-G is my thumbs up ;)

I do a lot of coding and essay writing. I also look at photos from digital cameras and go to various websites. I sometimes watch tv shows online. The only game I play is Sims 3 (and I don't play it that much).

EDIT: the two Samsungs are pretty much the same except the B2430H has a higher contrast ratio and supports HDMI. For only $10 it's worth it. BUT I noticed it's customer ratings are always lower than the 2494SW.

Samsung overallmakes great monitors. I have a SyncMaster 2494 and love it but its max resolution in 1920x1080.

What is your budget?

Also, certainly not expert driven you'll still get a whole lot more customer feedback on monitors at NewEgg.com.

When your paying budget prices you will always have the problem of quality issues, i.e. bleeding, refresh rate, colour / contrast, resolution.

I was in your shoes litterally 2 weeks ago and i went with the best all round specs i could afford. There is never a perfect one at budgest prices only happy mediums, i know its not an answer but if you have a budget limit just get the best resolution you can with the least bleed etc.

All the makes i looked at for the money i wanted to spend included,

Viewsonic
Hanns-G
BenQ
Samsung
Iiyama