Mobo replacement breaks VAIO system recovery

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello All

First time poster. I'm trying to do a little forensic work on behalf of my mom, whose VAIO desktop refuses to do a system recovery.

The backstory: She bought a VAIO RS310 several years ago from the good folks at Best Buy (cough), along with their extended warranty. Last year a power surge spiked the mobo, so Best Buy put in a new one for her (the original hard drive and its contents survived). Worked fine after that.

Last week she asked me to help clean out her machine, just do a straight forward wipe using system recovery. But multiple attempts from the restore disks and recovery partition all failed, each with the following message: "Model number does not match recovery disks." Strange....so I ran a system information report, and what did I find? The model number now says RS220.

Well, I'm no techie, but to me it looks like Best Buy substituted a different (albeit functional) motherboard when they did the repair. If that's the case, then when I tried to run system recovery, Windows Product Activation must have looked for the original hardware hash and flagged the discrepancy. Is this a reasonable conclusion? I have to wonder what the Geek Squad did to re-authorize Windows after the mobo replacement--probably dialed the toll free number at MS--but whatever they did, it definitely wasn't a system recovery. The cynic in me thinks they just bootlegged a quick fix and bet the "little old lady" would never attempt one.

Anyway, the computer's warranty just expired, and Sony wants $300 to service it. Heck, it's not even worth that much on eBay. Mom is pretty much screwed at this point.