Monitor seems to have difficulty detecting graphics card

Thirtyeight

Hello all,

I'm having some problems with graphics cards getting spotty or no detection from my monitor.

I have a computer that was pre built by target, I've had it for several years now. A few months back, the graphics card started having issues. The monitor would go black occasionally, and towards the end, it would suddenly act like it wasn't getting a signal at all. I unplugged the gpu and ran the monitor of the built in chipset and had no issues. I just bought a new gpu, and to my immense annoyance, it is immediately having trouble. The computer would boot up fine, but a few minutes in, the screen would flash on and off, and finally just stop getting a signal. I suppose at this point it could be the motherboard, but I don't know.

I'm not very experienced with computers, and I was hoping someone could give me some advise on how I might fix this. I don't have a lot of money, so I don't want to replace anything I don't have too, and I really hope getting a new gpu wasn't a big mistake. I just wanted to be able to play games with my friends again.

I appreciate any help you can provide.

To me it sounds like the power supply is having trouble with the new video card. could you post the specs of the power supply and the rest of the computer that would be great.

I'm pretty certain its not the cable, though I don't have any other cables to test it.

Regarding my computer specs, my power supply is 400W, which was enough for my prior graphics card before I started having issues. 400W is supposed to be enough for this new card as well.

From what I can see on the sticker, my power supply is model # AP-450xs12v
part no. ATX2power400

I have an Intel Core 2 quad cpu
4 gb ram

I know thats not the full list you probably need. If you need more, how do I find that info?