Motherboard problem, please help

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi all,

I am a beginner in building computer, I have just bought a Athlon 64 3000+ and a Gigabyte motherboard GA-K8NS. I have put everything together and switch on the computer, first thing I noticed is the screen showing CPU clock frequency as 200Mhz and the system cannot load window, keep restarting with the window xp is about to load.

I contacted the mother manufacturer, they adviced me to upgrade my Bios. I have downloaded the latest Bios and when I tried to update in the Bios manual, the floppy drive read the floppy then stopped there and do nothing with the floppy drive light still on. I have no idea what happened, so if any one could give me a hand I would be very much appreciated.

My guess is the motherboard Bios need updating before the CPU being recorgnised, but what can I do if I can't update the Bios...

My computer system is:
AMD Athlon 64 3000+
Gigabyte motherboard GA_K8NS
1Gb Ram (DDR266 + DDR333)
PNY GeforceFX5200
60Gb IBM hard disk
80Gb Maxtor hard disk
Lite-On 52X CD-R
Lite-On 16X DVD rom
Power supply max 350W

Welcome to TechSpot

Take the DDR266 out and try booting with only the DDR333.
Mixing different types of RAM is a NONO.

Also, your power-supply is probably struggling. Disconnect the slave-harddisk and the DVD-drive temporarily, then try to boot.
If that works, you need a more powerful PSU, 450-550Watt, from a reputable company (Enermax, Thermaltake, Antec Truepower etc.)

Hi realblackstuff,

thanks for your reply, I have tried taking out the DDR266 before bu the same happened, will try and see if it's the power problem, will let you know if works. thanks again with your help.

Hi realblackstuff,