Status
Not open for further replies.

NZvista

Hi, my basic system specs are as follows:

ASUS M3A motherboard (AM2+ AMD 770)
AMD X2 6400+ dual core Cpu (AM2/)

Asus N8600GT Scilent PCI-Ex Video Card

Foxconn TSAA-998A ATX case

Whilst running speed fan i noticed i had an abysmal 2 fans in my CPU detected, this concerns me as my cpu temperature atm is 45-50 and Im told that it shoudl never go over 60 - a mark it flirts with constantly runnign such programs as google earth.

Is this an accident waiting to happen?

If so, how do I fix it, it is a store built CPU as I have limited computer knowledge. How hard is it to install extra fans or a "heat sink?"

Also, how much do these things cost/ what tools & equipemnt would be needed/ Are they readily available?

PS: I think i have a fan on my power supply, other than the two others..

Oh yeah, I forgot to ask, If getting more fans is the way to go then obviously ill be opening up the case, and moving parts to put the fans in place, Is thier any precautions one must take??

The maximum operating temp for your CPU is around 60C, and since your CPU is a 90nm one, it is naturally hotter running than other Brisbane-based AMD CPUs like the X2 5x00+ series. Add another case fan if you must. As for precautions, make sure you ground yourself by touching any part of the case from the inside, and try to avoid working on carpets if possible.

Ok, thanks for the advice.

I have configured speed fan however so that it actually automatically works now, so when it gets above about 50c my fans go up to 5000rpm. I think this should suffice untill the time comes when it hits the 60c mark

Have just opened up the case, and cleaned all the dust out.

I'm now still considering getting another case fan.

I have a heat sink/fan on my mother board which is assuring + one fan at the back.

The is one section of vent on my case that still has not been covered, so i think i will put the fan there.