Need help upgrading a video card

Status
Not open for further replies.

kimgesch

I am currently running a Nvidia GeForce4 Mx 420 64MB on a Dell 4550 2.4 with 512 RAM. I want to upgrade the video card, but not break the bank. So, less than $50. I'm saving for a new PC. I'm not happy with the performance in Microsoft Flight Simulator 2004, on average I get around 15 FPS.

I'm not too tech savvy so I have quite a few questions:

How important is the Clock Core speed? Is it more important to get higher memory or clock speed?

128 or 256MB, will there be a huge difference?

Any opinions on : Radeon 9200 9250 9550 9600? Should I stick with Nvidia? any suggetions on a Nvidia card?

What's the difference between AGP 2x, 4x, 8x ?

Is it worth it to pay $35 for a Radeon 9200 SE 128MB PC Video Graphics Card? or should I get something newer?

$50 isnt much to work with. The ATI 9200 and Nvidia 5200 are crap and avoid any card with 64bit memory or SE or LE in its name. Those are the lepers of video card. Do you have an AGP slot? Some Dells dont. If you need a PCI card the FX5700 is the best , for AGP check Ebay for a Radeon 9500.

All current AGP cards will be 8x but I can't say I've seen much difference between a good 4x and an average 8x card. The best card you could put in your system would be a 6800GT (or GS) or an X800 series. To get half decent FPS you're going to need a 6600 (prefferably a GT) or an X700. Most of the mid-range cards with 256MB of memory are no better than the 128MB versions and in fact some of them perform slightly worse due to slower memory speed. This is different for the high end cards as they have a much grater memory bandwidth and can access it effectively. If you get a 6600GT you will notice a massive FPS increase (I have one of these in a secondary machine and it screams along) but as long as you don't get a 64bit card I suspect you will seem some performance increase even with a 6200.

paulla said: