New Custom Water Cooling Loop up to 90°C

baN893

Hi everyone

I recently decided to go down the custom water cooling route to challenge myself a bit. Long story short. I upgraded from a be quiet! Dark Rock Pro 3 to the following Alphacool NexXxoS Cool Answer 240 D5/UT - kit. I learned about all the basics that I had to know, watched lots of instructional videos and read tons of sites on the subject. I work in IT and have been building my own PC systems for the past 5 years, so I am no novice to PC hardware.

Here's a list of the Components in the water cooling kit:
1x Alphacool NexXxoS XP3 Light - Intel/AMD
1x Alphacool Repack - Single Laing D5 - Dual 5,25 Bay Station
1x Alphacool VPP655 - Single Edition
1x Alphacool NexXxoS UT60 Full Copper
3x Alphacool tubing AlphaTube HF 13/10 (3/8“ID) - clear
6x Alphacool HF 13/10 Anschraubtülle G1/4 - Deep Black
1x Alphacool NB-eLoop 1200rpm - Bionic Lüfter (120x120x25mm)
1x Alphacool CKC Cape Kelvin Catcher Clear 1000ml
1x ATX-bridging plug (24 Pin) - black

I have set everything up, bled the system for 48 hours making sure there are no leaks etc. However, now that I have my computer running, I ran AIDA64 and quickly discovered that my temps are through the roof. like, between 87°C and 98°C depending on the core.

I am running an Asus ROG Z170 Maximus VIII Hero Motherboard with an Intel Core i7 6700K Processor in a Corsair Obsidian 750D. I tested out different clocks from 4.0GHz to 4.6GHz which has been running stable for the past 4-5 months. The i7 does NOT throttle or crash, the temps are simply really high.

I just can't figure out why the temps would be so high. I reseated the CPU cooler, applied a different and new type of thermal paste (because my other tube was 5 years old, who knows), set the fans to max settings, air is coming through the radiator.