New guy, need help setting up XP on blank RAID5 config

Status
Not open for further replies.
New guy here, first post ever, so be gentle and use lots of lube.

I just recently purchased a new compie. I've got 4x500gb seagate drives and I have configed as a RAID5. I am trying to install xp from an xp boot disc and am running into all sorts of problems. I don't have a floppy on my laptop, so I can't create a driver fdd for my asus motherboard (the southbridge-ICH9R-supports RAID5). Any ideas as to how I can circumvent this dilemma?

every time I boot from disc, after windows setup starts running the driver loading ticker across the bottom, I get an error message that says

"mountmgr.sys is corrupted. press any key to continue"

and then it tells me to press any key to restart. every time.

this is my first time ever building a compie from scratch, so I'm quasi-clueless on the process for blank HDD/new install.

any help would be appreciated.

earl

With fakeraid, RAID5 is not a good idea. It is going to put a huge strain on your CPU and the performance will suck. Also, 4 drives is not optimal for RAID5. Try RAID 0+1 or 1+0 instead if your controller supports it.

Asfor how to install Windows. Have you read your motherboard manual? Maybe there is a BIOS setting that gives you IDE emulation? Also, you could easily create the floppy on any other computer. Or buy a floppy drive for your desktop if you don't already have one. Maybe install Windows XP on a single hard drive, create the drivers floppy, then do the RAID install?

Got windows installed on IDE, good to go. the reason that i was having issues is, ironically enough, there are no floppies anywhere around where i am at, and i'd have a hard time getting ahold of one. but problem bypassed, so great!

"With fakeraid, RAID5 is not a good idea. It is going to put a huge strain on your CPU and the performance will suck. Also, 4 drives is not optimal for RAID5. Try RAID 0+1 or 1+0 instead if your controller supports it."