New laptop; Where should I put my money?

Status
Not open for further replies.

JesseM

I've been thinking about getting a new laptop and I'm mainly wondering where I should invest my money most: video card, processor, or memory? Also, what would be my best bet for getting the most basic laptop without any of the unnecessary gadgets that come with most laptops these days (webcam, fingerprint scanner, case lights, software, etc.)? Here's the breakdown:

What are you going to use the PC for?
First and foremost, I am a photographer. I run programs like Photoshop, Bridge, and Premiere Pro simultaneously and would love for them to run smoothly and quickly. I'd also like a high res screen because of this (my current laptop is native 1920x1200 and I love it). I am also a casual gamer and would expect my laptop to be able to run newer games smoothly, but not necessarily with max video settings. Lastly, I will be connecting this laptop to a TV to play HD movies, preferably via HDMI but that's not too important.

How much is your budget?
Shooting for around $1000, but of course this will depend on what I'm getting. I'm a college student on a pretty tight budget.

EDIT:
I forgot to mention; portability is not a priority, nor is the HDD size (I mostly use externals). The laptop will almost always be tethered and on my desk with a USB mouse and external speakers attached.

Do you have any intrests in a certian brand or are you looking for anything?

EDIT: I would suggest looking at the techspot Laptop buying guide. I think you are looking for a standard laptop configuration, since you will mostly be using it for photo editing programs and a little gaming. Since you are not worried about top gaming performance, it should work out alright.