New wireless router install: PC keeps dropping DSL connection

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm a computer novice (I can USE them, but anything else is foreign) trying to get my home PC and laptop networked and using the same internet connection. My DSL modem is outside of the apartment complex, and the old configuration was an ISP-provided router connected to the wall jack and then to my PC. I bought a wireless linksys router with the intention of having the PC connected to it by cable and bought a wireless network card for the laptop. The CD that came with the router kept detecting a cable connection, but we have DSL, so I had to call tech support. After several hours on tech support with linksys, the current cable route is: Wall to old router. Old router to Port 1 of wireless router. Port 2 of wireless router to PC. She also had me pinging things and configuring things and disabling something...This works, and I was happy. The laptop works great, no problems. The PC, however, drops the internet connection every so often (could be 5 minutes, could be half an hour), no consistency when it happens. Sometimes I have to restart, sometimes I have to restart and power cycle the routers, sometimes I just have to wait a little while....very frustrating. Suggestions for things to try? Please be as specific as possible, I don't want to inadvertently make it worse.

I haven't been able to set up the network between the two yet because of the internet issues, but if anybody has suggestions for that too...I appreciate any help.

Update on problem - more details