No keyboard response in XP login screen

Status
Not open for further replies.

Boneripper34

Hi

This is my first time using this forum, and i can only but prey for a quick response!

I rebooted my computer after installing bootvis (as i had problems with slow imapi and other important applications during boot). Suddenly my keyboard stopped working, and as i couldnt get past login screen (password) i had a big problem.
Tried a USB keyboard, but same problem.
I can enter bios and all just fine, but when login screen comes no buttons, not even num lock, caps lock or scroll lock responds (no lights).
Mouse works fine though... :suspiciou

PC specs :
MSI P965 Platinum socket 775.
PowerColor Radeon X1950XT 512MB
2 GB kingston ram DDR2 PC5300
1x 300 GB sata2 seagate hdd
1x 200 GB IDE seagate hdd
420W PSU
Labtec media keyboard
Microsoft habu

I thought it might be an Bootvis error (as it was the last thing i installed), but have find no indicators of this. The comp. should be malware and virus free, as i have gone through it often and kept safe.

Any suggestions?:confused:

Thnxs for the welcome:)

Yes i have tried going into safemode, but with no luck. As it loaded, same problem appeared at login screen.

I might add that i was stupid enough to think it might be a problem with drivers & such, so i decided to reinstall windows. upon entering the serial code for windows, the keyboard stops working again! and every time i reboot it auto-restarts setup...so im kinda stuck now!

If you boot with the XP cd in the tray are you able to cancel settup and retry to effect a repair install?

Thnxs, but it doesnt work. I only get an error message, and then it auto-reboots. It looks as though it might have removed vital files from the original install during repair install :(

If still able to navigate Bios, can you find an ESCD reset setting or a Reset Configuration Data feature (same thing diff name)?

OK -here's the thing.