Please help! GeForce 5700 - Bad frame rates in FMV's and more...

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello everyone! =o)

I'm a noob so please be gentle...

I have a WinFast A360 TDH (nVidia GeForce FX 5700), an Athlon XP 3000+ and 512MB of RAM, running a DVD burner and 3x IDE hd's. For some time now, I have had some issues with FMV's in a few of my games. I have listed SOME of the effected games below (there are others, but these are off the top of my head).

-Driv3r
-X-Men 2: Wolverine's Revenge
-Mashed
-Onimusha: Warlords
-Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles

Now when I say 'issues', I'm talkin' around 0.01 fps! You could almost make a coffee in between frames! The games run fine (well, fine for an older card), but it's just the intro and ingame movies that are shockingly slow. You have to repeatedly tap esc. and ret. to try and skip them at the frame shift, which really sucks. Especially with Driv3r because it has movies running behind the menu, so it's pretty much unusable...

Also, all of the 'decent' nvidia tech demo's run pretty average on it too, like 'Ogre', 'Dawn', 'Clear Sailing' and 'Time Machine'. Any thoughts...?

Just another thing: I just got Juiced, and I am getting really bad frame rate spikes. I've been tweaking the options all night but I'm still getting sudden bursts of frame rate increases and decreases all over the place! Like hooning down at 60fps, then slides into about 30fps, then quickly bursts up to 80fps for a bit, which throws me into a wall or a spin because of being unprepared for the sudden game speed increase... Really annoying... =o(

Well, there's my sad tale. Any help on any of these issues would be greatly appreciated... =o)

P.S. Please try and avoid the obvious 'get a new card' thing, because something ain't right here. Why would nvidia release a tech demo for the 5700 if my 5700 runs it at 15fps? Not a good way to promote your product...