Revisiting the Radeon R9 280X / HD 7970

Julio Franco

Staff member
Just like the GTX 680, it's still a competent card if you still haven't moved up to 1440p.

R9 280Xs are also great for hackintoshes. They hit that budget/performance sweet spot like no other card.

And as I said in my post on "Revisiting the GTX 680", yes they definitely edge out the GTX 960.

I've been using AMD Sapphire 280X 3G for 4 years now, and I can still play anything today. I plan to use it until 2020. Awesome performance for such an old REBRANDED card!

Damn, Tahiti really did she well. The gtx 680 was actually closer to the 7950 than the 280x even with the rare 4gb version.
Combined with amazing compute performance, these will go down as one of the greatest gpus of all time.

Great article, Steve!

I love these articles. Very relevant in the current market, but also interesting from a technical perspective of how old cards age.

I had a standard R9 280 3GB and it was excellent for 1080p, you could also OC that S**t out of it and it still ran golden! I later upgraded to a 1070 and sold the 280 to a miner for the same price I paid for it :)

Thank you for this, given my moan on the "Revisiting the GTX 680" comments page!

Looks like I'll be hanging on to my 280x for a while longer, even though both fans died and I've cabled tied 2x 80mm case fans powered by Molex's to it :)

In fact, I was running this with a Phenom 965 up until last November and was seriously concerned I'd have to replace everything, a budget I didn't have.

Ended up going Ryzen 1600 and keeping this, so glad I did, it's like having a new card.

Great job. Great card.

Still a decently capable 1080p card if you don't mind the power consumption. I run a 380x alongside a i5 4460 and I got more than acceptable frame rates in some popular titles like witcher 3 etc