Shift key makes buttons unusable in games

Jason Chi

Shift key makes buttons unusable in games
My shift key has been acting up for at least 2 days and ever since I started playing video games, it acts funky. Whenever I press Shift (as it is the default for sprinting or using a command in the game), I am unable to press escape, enter or any other button until I press shift again. I'm not sure why this problem occurs, but I can give a couple examples of my games.

League of legends - Pressing Shift freezes the game and shows the windows cursor instead of the in-game cursor.
Rainbow Six Siege - Pressing Shift sprints, but until I let go of the key and I am unable to press any other button
Overwatch - Pressing Shift and I am unable to press any other button and the windows cursor appears in the middle.

So, shift is acting strangely - but it is slightly different from one software to another. My first guess would be malware because it does not seem to be a consistent, hardware layer type of error. However, if you have another keyboard, I would try swapping first. Also, if you have a special keyboard with specific software, please disclose this now. Otherwise, pursue as if it were an infection.

Well all of my other games act like League of Legends such as Minecraft and all of my steam games. I don’t have any malaware as I scan my pc every day. I was thinking it could be a software error. If this helps, I connected my PC to my steam link before the problem started.

SO, swapping keyboard did not change anything?
SO, you do not use any keyboard software?
SO, you have total faith in your anti-malware?

Did you install anything just before problem appeared?

You could try removing keyboard as a device from Device Manager and then re-starting to allow system to find and install your keyboard fresh.

Personally, I think someone may have changed the scancodes for your keyboard as a prank or misguided malware.