Solved: Winmgmt.exe has generated errors and will be closed.

Winmgmt.exe has generated errors and will be closed by windows.You will need to resta

Hello ,
I am new to this but in desperate need of help.
I upgraded my machine from windows98SE to windows 2000 professional.
It was a dream coem true , machine was stable never crashed etc and then suddenly about 2 weeks back I started to get this annoying pop-up windows saying program error "Winmgmt.exe has generated errors and will be closed by windows.You will need to restart the program. AN error log is being created".
I have tried to delete as much stuff as I could that I have installed in the last month but to no avail.
I have also tried to re-install the software ( onto itself without erasing the previous version) but still no luck.

While looking at the Administrative tools->Computer management->System Tools->Event viewer->System I ge the following message " Windows management Instrumentation Service terminated unexpectedly It has been done 367 times. The following corrective action will be taken in 60000 milliseconds. Restart the service"
And the cycle keeps on and on.
It has become a headache trying to compose even a simple Email.Please help.

Regards.
Rajesh Bahl
Email: bahl_oz@yahoo.com.au

Well, I can't even begin to imagine what could be causing that. Personally, I'd back up what you need, and do a format and clean install. That ought to clean out any errors.

Did you get that taken care of darhome?

Let us know if that fixed it.

LNCPapa

If that doesn't work, I'd probably try using the System File Checker to make sure your system files are not corrupted.

If you need details on how to use it, it is a built-in program with Windows XP. Just search for it in any search engine and you'll find directions.