stubborn VBS.SOLOW - HELP!

Status
Not open for further replies.

suk

Hi!
My home computer has been infected by this nasty vbs.solow virus - it must have been there for a while because now i can't double click on the drive letters on the computer to open them (apparently this is a symptom). I have run Hijack this and fixed the entries marked:

R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Window Title = TAGA ESTI, MARINDUQUE MABUHAY!!! by: Nicklaus S. Buñag

and

O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [maskrider] C:\WINDOWS\maskrider2001.vbs

I ran avg antivirus, spybot and ad-aware, manually yanked maskrider from the registry. yet everytime i restart there they are back again . . .

I'm attaching the current hijack this log . . . someone please help. . .

thanks,
suk

I don't see the infestation, but I am no expert such as Momok and Howard_Hopkinso
While awaiting the reply on your log, try running your antivirus and antispyware again in normal mode, then again immediately in Safe Mode following a reboot.
It may be that you will now need to run a fix by booting to your windows disc in repair mode.

Very Important: Before deciding whether you should clean or reformat your system, go and read this thread HERE and decide what it is you want to do.

If after reading the above, you wish to clean your system, do the following.

For your maskrider2001.vbs problem, go HERE and follow the manual removal instructions.

Then, go and read the Viruses/Spyware/Malware, preliminary removal instructions. Follow all the instructions exactly.

Post fresh HJT, AVG Antispyware and Combofix logs as attachments into this thread, only after doing the above.

Also, let me know the results of the AVG Antirootkit scan.

Regards Howard :)

This thread is for the use of suk only. Please don`t post your own virus/spyware problems in this thread. Instead, open a new thread in our security and the web forum.

tried . ..

dear howard,