Various BSOD's, Memtest86+ failure, etc...

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey folks...please help me!

This is my first post, so bear with me if I sound *****ic. I'm also a literature major, so while I know computers reasonably well I am by no means an expert.

I got an Emachines T-6524 about a year ago. Being a *****, I couldn't wait to install my new Nvidia graphics card when the computer showed up, so I immediately voided the warranty and put the card in. Starting about 3 days later, I would get various BSODs (maybe once or twice a week, often when starting up an internet browser) including IRQ_LESS_THAN...etc., as well as ones with bugchecks of 50 and 07 (I think?). I had also added a 512 Ram stick from my old computer at the same time as the graphics card.

Anyway, I put up with it for a while, mostly because admitting that there was a problem would mean that I had let myself be ripped off - it hurt my pride. A couple of months ago, I got sick of it, ordered a new 512 stick of RAM after suspecting that an old one was bad, and swapped it in. The BSOD's continue. There are 2 other 512 sticks in there that came with the computer. Another thing I have noticed is that 2 sticks are running at 3-3-3-8 @200Mhz, while the third (new) one is at 3-4-4-8 @ 200 Mhz. Is this an issue that could cause BSODs???

Memtest 86+, after running for 3 days last week, showed 76 passes and 1 error. I have noticed that Ntfs.sys shows up quite a bit in the BSODs as a culprit. What is my next step? I want to swap out all the RAM and max it out at 4Gb, but if something else is wrong (graphics card memory, etc...) I'd rather get that in order first.

Any suggestions? I'm attaching the 3 most recent minidumps for your reference. Since these were made I have updated many drivers... Though they seem to be related to programs and not hardware... I dunno.