Vista Screen Freeze

Status
Not open for further replies.

Walter

I have had Vista 32 bit for roughly a year and have not had this problem before. The Vista screen freezes while I am working, The only solution for me has been to shut the computer off and then turn it back on. This only works some of the time. Even if I stop working for only a few moments. It happens so frequently that it occurred while I was attempting to log into this board.

Could you guys please help me?

What should I do first? Provide a HiJack this?

Thanks!
I

Thanks for the reply.

The closest I get to an error is an audit failure in the event viewer audit section upon turning my machine back on.

Supposedly, Windows updates drivers on its own as needed. I can manually look for an update for a given driver, but I don't think that I can do a batch "update drivers" command. Of course, I'm no expert on drivers.

I have Version 6.0 (Build 6001: Service Pack 1)

I will attempt the 8 step virus check although I suspect that is not the problem.

Meanwhile, here is some more info for you:

I have a hunch that this is somehow related to the sleep, hibernation, or other functionality that is triggered by how long it has been since the keyboard has been touched. The screen has not frozen when I been working on the machine, as I am now. The problem seems to occur when I stop and do something else for a few minutes,

It occurs even if I do not have any applications open.

By "screen freeze", I mean that I can move the cursor and the cursor moves across the screen as expected, but nothing responds to my clicks. In addition, Ctrl Alt Del does nothing. I have been turning the machine off to get out of the screen freeze.

I have a laptop that I leave plugged in. I have "turn off the display" and "put the computer to sleep" both set to "Never".

I hope some of this helps. I will let you know what I find. Thanks!

It freezes during the Virus scan, so I might try a different approach.