What killed Vista will make Windows 7 fly

Status
Not open for further replies.

Emil

Staff
I'm one of those users who has been using Vista with no problems ever since Microsoft gave out RTM copies to beta testers. However, as a writer, I've watched the media completely destroy the public opinion of Vista, leading many to stick with Windows XP or to look for alternatives, even before they had tried Vista. Even with SP1 out, many have not bothered trying Vista on recent hardware and therefore could not realize the fact that it really is worthy of being XP's successor. If I had to lay the blame on one party for Vista's poor public opinion, I wouldn't lay it on Microsoft, I wouldn't lay it on hardware companies incapable of producing good drivers, I wouldn't lay it on the fact that XP is so good, I would lay it on the media for blowing things out of proportions.

Yes, the problem is exaggeration (it's in this article's title too, in case you missed it); bloggers and journalists alike use their personal experiences to prove their point in their writing. The blame doesn't solely lie with us, as Vista was by no means perfect, but we did manage to amplify the problems beyond reason. And if the beta is anything to go by, Windows 7 is going to fly. This is, by far, the best beta operating system the software giant has ever released. The media has locked on to this, and is using exaggeration already, before Windows 7 is even ready for prime time.

Full Story: http://arstechnica.com/journals/microsoft.ars/2009/01/16/what-killed-vista-will-make-windows-7-fly

Well.....Um......OK...,Then.....

I have a couple of observations.

Let's all hope that Windows 7 is all that good. Since if it's not, we'll have to listen to a few more years of Apple ads featuring a pseudo-intellectual twit and a fat kid that looks like Bill Gates.