Will 8800GT work with this PSU?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi, I'm going to buy a GeForce 8800GT and I have a 380 Watt PSU: Seasonic S12 380W.

I'm not sure if it can handle the 8800GT card. Here are specs for the PSU (I'm not good at that stuff so I'll post all I can find that I think could be relevant):

ATX12V V2.0
PCI-E Connector (6P)
+12V1 - 10A
+12V2 - 15A

Minimum System Requirements

1GB of system memory

Microsoft Windows Vista -or- Windows XP
CD or DVD-ROM drive

50MB of available hard disk drive space for basic driver installation

425W PCI Express-compliant system power supply with a combined 12V current rating of 28A or more (Minimum system power requirement based on a standard PC configured with an Intel® Core™2 Extreme X6800 processor)

PCI Express-compliant motherboard with one vacant PCI Express x16 slot

One 6-pin PCI Express supplementary power connector -or- Two 4-pin Molex supplementary power connectors

this was taken from tigerdirect on this 8800gt
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=3485042&CatId=1839

Ok, I don't have a X6800, only an e2180 and 1 HDD, will that affect the 28A requirement? I have a second PSU with 25A on +12V (I assum this is the PCI-E connector).

try this calculator from newegg.com

http://educations.newegg.com/tool/psucalc/index.html

after you enter in everything, add about 30% more power and that should give you a safe number to work with.

personally, i would not run anything lower than 500w's with any of the 8800's just to be on the safe side.

i run the 8800gts (few points below the 8800gt) with a 600w psu. it gives me no troubles and plenty of "upgrade" room for other components.

hope the calculator works out for ya.