XP Emachine

By learninmypc · 121 replies
Mar 13, 2018
Post New Reply
  1. captaincranky

    captaincranky TechSpot Addict Posts: 13,507   +3,019

    Cliff, I'm not entirely sure the newest Firefox supports XP. I got some notice to that effect. Supposedly. I'm on "extended support", which I think means, I have an older version of Firefox, the browser itself can't be updated, but I still get security updates..

    Here's the Mozilla page concerning XP & Firefox: https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/end-support-windows-xp-and-vista

    @learninmypc Here are the SSE2 incept dates for both Intel & AMD CPUs: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SSE2
     
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2018
  2. cliffordcooley

    cliffordcooley TS Guardian Fighter Posts: 10,169   +4,109

  3. captaincranky

    captaincranky TechSpot Addict Posts: 13,507   +3,019

    In my P-4 powered eMachines (Circa 2005), the Firefox install is FirefoxESR 52.7.3

    So basically I was just musing as to whether Mozilla will, as of now, only allow the install of the "ESR" browser, in lieu of the earlier versions which are not receiving security updates.

    Another possibility, as scary as it sounds, might be you have to go all the way back to FF 3.0 versions, to get one to install.
    AVG won't provide automatic updates until XP SP3 (My AVG 2015 (?) install claims there is no internet connection)

    You can visit AVG support manually, (click on support) which then offers a link to the AVG site, after which you click on "downloads" then> "updates", then the latest "definitions" file. After that downloads, (close "support" panel) you go to the "option" tab, and choose "update from directory", I download my updates directly to the desktop, after which the file path shoud be: "C:/" > "documents and settings" > "owner" > "desktop". Just click on "desktop", and AVG will find and install the update. Remember to click "save" on the download panel, as the update download is in a odd format designed for a media player. If you don't click save, the VLC media player will try to play it, but can't.

    I still can't figure out why you can't find a hardwired LAN for the web in device manager. If the back panel of the computer has a RJ-45 socket, the machine pretty much has to have a LAN board somewhere. It sounds like you're missing a driver
     
  4. learninmypc

    learninmypc TS Evangelist Topic Starter Posts: 8,120   +525

    I plugged my ethernet in, went into device manager, right clicked ethernet controller, X'd out of everything & rebooted but of course it did no good. stuck on wireless. :)
    Am using Avast.
     
  5. captaincranky

    captaincranky TechSpot Addict Posts: 13,507   +3,019

    OK, there are 104 replies so far, without a clue as to the model number, or the CPU number. If I missed these things being published, I apologize.

    My eMachines has the Windows product code on the back, as well as the machine model number on a separate paper sticker, as well as the Model # and equipment RAM, and whatnot, blasted across the front. I obviously realize you may not be so fortunate. But if we had a model number, or you tried a bit harder rto locate device info in the BIOS, we might be able to help more.

    It doesn't make sense to me, (although granted it doesn't have to), that eMachines would ship this clunker without a hard wired ethernet controller. The Wi-Fi adapter is a perk, or a "value added feature", which should be in addition to a wired solution.. The Firewire port, as I said earlier, is primarily a video capture solution, and again, a "value added" selling point.

    I mean jeez, by your screen cap of device manager, the beast even has a fax modem adapter. (although these were pretty much standard equipment back in the dark ages of eMachine hoards).

    I'm thinking either your machine had a separate ethernet card which is now missing, an on the mobo adapter which has failed, or you're somehow simply missing just the driver.

    Assuming you have an "Award BIOS", the onboard LAN controller can be enabled or disabled in BIOS. Assuming it exists, you'l find it under "integrated peripherals..
     
  6. MaikuTech

    MaikuTech TS Addict Posts: 649   +121

    http://www.ascendtech.us/emachines-au31-motherboard-101618_i_mbaemac101618.aspx
    Thats the best he could do double back and check page 2 and 3.
    http://www.emachines.com/ec/en/US/content/drivers.html

    @learninmypc just find the serial number on the side or back of the case if it is still there and give it to us.
    If for some reason its not there, take a picture and post it back here for proof so we can keep moving.
     
  7. captaincranky

    captaincranky TechSpot Addict Posts: 13,507   +3,019

    OK, if this is indeed the board in the machine, it does list a 10/100 Mbs on board LAN, and a rear RJ-45 port. Which tells me the almost has to be a wired internet connection lurking somewhere.

    It is a genuine relic though, with two PATA sockets, and no SATA controllers. Do we even have enough ATA HDDs on hand to make a reasonable amount of storage? I guess if you need to use SATA HDDs, an add-in SATA controller card in the PCI slot is the only option
     
  8. learninmypc

    learninmypc TS Evangelist Topic Starter Posts: 8,120   +525

    Model # :EMACHINES T3085

    Mainboard manufacturer First International Computer Inc

    BIOS Phoenix Technologies LTD
    Version TCB421Q
    Date 02/02/2004
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2018
  9. learninmypc

    learninmypc TS Evangelist Topic Starter Posts: 8,120   +525

  10. learninmypc

    learninmypc TS Evangelist Topic Starter Posts: 8,120   +525

  11. MaikuTech

    MaikuTech TS Addict Posts: 649   +121

    Sweet stuff I am at work and I'll dig around early tonight to see which drivers will work.
     
    learninmypc likes this.
  12. captaincranky

    captaincranky TechSpot Addict Posts: 13,507   +3,019

    Phoenix and Award merged in 1998
    Award Software has merged with Phoenix Technologies
    Just so you know we're dealing with the same company. http://www.award-bios.com (y)
     
  13. learninmypc

    learninmypc TS Evangelist Topic Starter Posts: 8,120   +525

    Thanks.
     
  14. learninmypc

    learninmypc TS Evangelist Topic Starter Posts: 8,120   +525

  15. MaikuTech

    MaikuTech TS Addict Posts: 649   +121

  16. learninmypc

    learninmypc TS Evangelist Topic Starter Posts: 8,120   +525

    I believe Microsoft Net Framework 3.0 Service Pack 2
     
  17. learninmypc

    learninmypc TS Evangelist Topic Starter Posts: 8,120   +525

    Operating System Windows XP Professional Service Pack 3 (build 2600)
     
  18. learninmypc

    learninmypc TS Evangelist Topic Starter Posts: 8,120   +525

  19. learninmypc

    learninmypc TS Evangelist Topic Starter Posts: 8,120   +525

  20. learninmypc

    learninmypc TS Evangelist Topic Starter Posts: 8,120   +525

  21. learninmypc

    learninmypc TS Evangelist Topic Starter Posts: 8,120   +525

    Sorry, it won’t let me upload any photo
     
  22. learninmypc

    learninmypc TS Evangelist Topic Starter Posts: 8,120   +525

Add your comment to this article

You need to be a member to leave a comment. Join thousands of tech enthusiasts and participate.
TechSpot Account You may also...