Adding to Apple's iOS 8 woes, a bug in the operating system's Reset All Settings option is causing documents stored in the new iCloud Drive to be permanently deleted, according to a MacRumors report. The problem, which affects iOS users as well as Yosemite developers and beta testers, raises its ugly head when users select the aforementioned option from the Reset menu in the Settings app.
The Reset All Settings option, which is meant to reset settings and preferences, clearly says that "No data or media will be deleted", but MacRumors says it has confirmed the option is also deleting files. The issue came to light when MacRumors forum member Chris Newbold performed the reset on his iPad and found his iWork documents deleted (both locally and from the cloud).
However, the report notes that the bug is limited to Apple's own iWork apps like Pages, Keynote, and Numbers, and doesn't affect iCloud Drive files from other third-party apps. Although Apple is yet to comment on the issue, we strongly recommend that you either back up your iCloud Drive documents before performing the Reset All Settings operation, or better, avoid the operation entirely until a fix comes out.
Introduced with iOS 8 and OS X Yosemite, iCloud Drive is Apple's cloud-based storage service that lets you sync files across devices running iOS and Mac OS X, and to other platforms through iCloud apps. The service, which was first introduced during the company's annual Worldwide Developers Conference (WWDC) in June, is expected to be fully functional next month, after OS X Yosemite is released.