Administrator Access Probelms HELP

Status
Not open for further replies.

jjangl337

whenever i try to access such windows 2000 applications of importance that only administrators or certain users should be able to get into, such as The administrative tools or the device manager i get rejected with this message "Access to specified device, path, or file is denied." Also i am a administrator on my machine and i have the service pack 3 and windows 2000. I am still able to do such things as change user's passwords and properties. Please help me...

I just recently tried to install sp4, but failed due to a service pack error
while inspecting current conifiguration "The file c:\winnt\system32\tftp.exe is open or in use by another application. when i try to close my other apps running it says operation is need for this process etc or that im denied to close that app

Try to log-off from your normal user-name. Then log-in as "Administrator" with your admin-password (try all blanks or the often used "admin" if you have "forgotten" it).
Then right-click "My Computer" on the desktop, selct "Manage" and check out "Local Users and Groups". Check that your username really is in the Administrator group.

While you are logged in as administrator, why not switch off your AV-program and other monitoring software and install SP4?

Or you could try creating another account and giving it administrator rights...

That should give you an account without any restrictions...

BTW: what have you done since last time you had access as administrator?

i am a administator and when i went to the users menu in the control panel it says that im a administrator and a debugger user? ill try making another accnt right now it seems i have admin rights just that im denied go use certain windows os apps

Hmm...

I would point the finger that the failed SP4 install...

You could pop in the win2k pro install cd, and repair it, though that would require you to install all your drivers (and SP's) again...