ATI Video Cards

Status
Not open for further replies.

jarulezz

Hello, I'm new to the TechSpot Community and i have a question about the ATI video cards:
Is the HD3870 better than the HD4850?
Because I upgraded my PC and the guy that i was buying the stuff from said that he hasnt got any HD4850s in stock and instead gave me a 3870 and said that its better and its more expensive. But he sold it to me for the same price.
They are both ASUS manufacturer.

Is that true?

http://www.gpureview.com/show_cards.php?card1=547&card2=566

Looking at the comparison, the guy was right, but i don't know why the 3870 is faster then the 4850, unless the 4850 is one of those mid range cards that was release not too long ago. Either way, i will be happy.

One thing tho, the 4850 is newer from what i believe then the 3870, so why did he charge you the same price, how much was the card anyway?

Thanks for the quick reply ;)
I live in UK and the currency is obviously pounds.
Well he wanted to charge me £129 for the HD4850.
Why did he charge me same price for the 3870?:
1. Because im his loyal customer
2. and the PC was supposed to be ready for last Saturday with the HD4850 but the delivery didnt have the card and said it will be on Monday (Yesterday) but he didnt want to be late with my order so he put the 3870 instead and said that its £20 more expensive and its better but he charged me for the same price, so i believed him and took it home and now i just wanna be sure its better.

He also said that its not about the 3000 series or the 4000 series, its about the the last 2 digits:
70 is the best in the series
50 is mid-range
and 30 is low budget

And now i just had a quick look on my receipt that he gave me and it says that the 3870 that he gave me, he overclocked it, so i think it is better, anyway im still waiting for more sure info :)