BSOD with IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL Windows XP

I am encountering BSOD with the following message (see attached minidump also)

STOP: 0X0000000A(0X00000054,0X0000001C,0X00000001,0X805022D0)

This happened after I tried to increase disk performance by following recommendations in
petri.co.il/increase_hard_disk_speed_in_windows_xp_2003.htm

to increase hard disk cache as my system has 1G of RAM

Safe boot up still works

I have tried the following with no success
1. reversing the change to increase the cache size described above
2. using "last known good config"
3. restoring to previous restore points (tried various dates)
4. I have checked the memory and hard disk using the BIOS's checking utility with no errors reported

Can you help? I have no detailed computer knowledge
Thanks.

Attachments

• Mini061311-01.dmp
    88 KB · Views: 3
Do you recall installing new software or updating software on the 12th June. There is an unknown driver named rapportcerberus32_27897.sys blamed for this BSOD. I can't find any report on it being Malware but it sure looks suspicious, Rapport is security software from Natwest so may be it is connected to that or it is unknown Malware that is targeting it.

One other thing, your system is not up to date with critical updates from Microsoft. You are still on service pack 2 which is no longer supported by Microsoft you should turn on Windows Update and get it updated or you are wide open to attack.

request for more information

Hi Mark,

Many thanks for your help in this.

Rapport is installed so maybe the issue.

What should I do?

Run up in safe mode and de-install
check list of drivers to see if removed
try full windows boot-up?

Many thanks

Hi, I have just found the same file in another BSOD on the Techguy forum. I have put in a thread on their Malware forum to see if the Malware experts know anything about this file.