Building a PC

Well, I certainly could use some help on building a PC. I certainly do not have the funds necessary, but when I do, I would like to spend no more than 2k - quite a bit less if possible. But I want something that can handle gaming at the highest quality (games like Sid Meier's Civ 5), handle my digital audio workstation projects (I use Reaper and I multi-track and fx like crazy), I want very low latency of course, because I record with simulated guitar amps and effects. So this means a speedy CPU (maybe at least 3.0 GHz Quad), great graphics card, and lots of memory (because I edit videos a lot too). Is all this possible under 2,000 USD?

I am a bit of a noob at this; however, I have been exposed to some computer knowledge and have been around the geeks. I have soaked up some information here and there. I got a two-year degree in Microcomputers, but it was the not the hardware side. So don't expect me to know all about the graphics cards and stuff. I just need a little shove in the right, general direction. I want to make sure I get what I need and it's all compatible (obviously). I plan to do this when I have a full time job and moved out where I have my own space. It doesn't hurt to plan ahead. ;)

-Brandon

You should get a pretty beasty computer for $2000.

i5 3570K
ASUS Z77 motherboard
8GB RAM
Radeon 7970 or GeForce GTX 670
Dedicated sound card maybe?
And an SSD. Because they're awesome.

It's not much use now putting together a PC if you don't have the funds, computer hardware changes all the time so it's best to save up and ask again later.

But a $2k build will easily handle what you've described, Civ 5 is not a very demanding game and a 3770K will probably be enough on the CPU side.