Can't set up new My Book External Hard Drive On Network Drives

Status
Not open for further replies.

Coda22

Hello,

New to the site and hoping to get some help. I am trying to set up an external HDD on Network Drives in my office. I have selected the tab to share the file on the network and all that. I notice it comes up as "E:" and that is not an option to choose from when I select Map Network Drive. Where it asks for the folder I put in \\Server\name of new drive. It keeps saying "Network path can not be found". I have tried to put the ip in and then the name of the new drive, like so: \\192.168.1.7\name of new drive. Still can't be found. I have the hand also showing under the drive indicating that it CAN be shared. I formated the drive to NTFS as are the drives on the network.

I'm not a pro when it comes to networking and I don't know if I'm asking a stupid question here but any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

I have looked at this guide and what I don't understand is the part where it says to open the folder I want to share. This is not a folder, it is an external drive, I don't have the option of choosing a folder. I want the drive to be on the network for storage. I currently have two other drives on the network of which I did not set up. Those are pictures of drives not folders and the same comes up when I hit browse, I see the new drive in there, it's a picture of a drive not a folder, but when I click on it the "OK" button is no longer available. I'm totally confused :confused:

I'm thinking Drive \Folder same thing

But here's a good test
Actually make a folder in that shared external drive (you could call it USB-HDD or something)
Then share it as such
And follow the guide

This is not ideal, but an excellent test :grinthumb