[Closed] PC performance & stability report analysis virus.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Penco

This is my first time using this forum.

I've read up on the procedure of listing logs so I can receive accurate help through your forum. Unfortunately, I'm hung up on step two.

I downloaded MBAM and loaded it to a flashdrive. Installing MBAM goes well and at the last second displays "ACCESS DENIED". Is there any way around this?

Lastly, the virus affecting my work PC is best described as "PC performance & stability report analysis". No icons can be viewed on my desktop or in C drive. However, I can view files in my jump drive and access the "start" bar.

Also, if this is of any interest, Microsoft Security Essentials removed two viruses from the computer when doing a pre-scheduled scan. This removed the annoying Pop-up, but I still dont have access to my desktop icons or filesystem of C drive.

Thank you for any and all help,
Ian

To clear up the errors I am receiving when attempting to install MBAM...
(First)
Run-Time Error '53':
File not found: mbamnet

(Second)
Setup
Access is denied

(Last)
ERROR
Setup was not completed. Please correct the problem and run Setup again.

Welcome to TechSpot! I'll help you get out of this spot!

When you refer to your work PC, is it the same system? We are working on just one system- yes?

First of all, know that the files and programs, as well as icons are not gone. They have been given an attribute that causes them to be hidden> we will unhide them in time.

Also, do not be alarmed or attempt to 'fix' these alerts and error messages you are getting. That is also part of the malware. We will also resolve those in time.

Can you get into Normal Mode? Can you connect to the internet? I'm not clear on just what was done here:
I downloaded MBAM and loaded it to a flashdrive. Installing MBAM goes well and ....