Clueless about PSU

Status
Not open for further replies.

matrix86

Ok, so I almost got all the parts for my new system picked out. I'm having trouble deciding on a case and PSU. I'm a little lost because I don't want to pay a lot of money for a large PSU. The specs I have so far:

GIGABYTE GA-P55-USB3

i5-750

G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Dual Channel

XFX HD-477A-YDFC Radeon HD 4770 512MB 128-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16
(*Note: this card says it requires 450W)

Kingston SSDNow V Series SNV425-S2BD/64GB 2.5" Desktop Bundle 64GB SATA II

WD Caviar Black 1TB 7200RPM HDD
(*Note: This is not on my list to buy as I already have on in my current system)

I still haven't picked out a DVD burner yet, but I thought this may be enough to get some help on choosing a power supply. I'm new to computer building and i'm unsure the difference between a 24 pin main connector (the mobo has a 24-Pin power pin) and a 20+4 pin. I also want to be sure I don't get a PSU that has more power than I need, but I want to ensure it'll give me some room for if I add 1 or 2 more hard drives in future (which I hope to do). Keep in mind i'm trying to stay under $900 for the whole build (it was originally $800 but not sure that's gonna happen, lol), and may decide on a cheaper SSD later (though right now i'm considering kicking it and just using the HDD in my current system). I'd like to not go over $100 on a GPU (and not over $50 on a case). But like I said, keep in mind I need enough power for all the things listed here, plus 1 or 2 more HDDs and a DVD burner.

I'm also still wondering around for cases, but it's the PSU that i'm more concerned about. Thanks for any help.

PS,