Computer freezes when i ask it to do multiple tasks at once

Hello,

I'm not very good with the inner workings of my computer. I apologise for that in advance. If you ask a specific question regarding motherboard, memory, or anything else inside, I can find out, but I won't have the answer available straight away.

Here's the issue:

My laptop freezes. Easy enough. Usually, it freezes when either: a) I have mulitple tabs open in Firefox; or b) I have multiple programs open.

Example- Last night, I had Firefox (one tab: Pandora) open and iTunes open. I know, I know, why do you need two music programs open? Don't fret, I don't like mixing classical with Bollywood. Now, I could open Firefox first, then iTunes, or vice versa, but either way my laptop would freeze within just a few minutes. Now, we're not talking about a "it'll-pull-itself-out-of-this" kind of freeze. We're talking a full on, everything stops, ctrl+alt+delete does nothing kind of freeze.

Whenever it hits that wall, I have no choice but to turn the laptop off by depressing the power button. I can then turn it immediately back on and it acts like nothing happened. Until it freezes again a little later and we have to go through the process again. Last night, this happened about 5 times in 15 minutes.

Here's what I can tell you: my computer is hot. I think that has something to do with all of this. But I certainly don't know.
Also, it's old. I don't know for sure, but it's probably pushing 5 years. Eeks. Just writing that scares me.
I have a feeling- and it is purely a feeling- that my processor is worn out. That's the only thing I can diagnose as a problem since it seems to have the most bad attitude when I ask it multitask.

So, what should I do?

Oh, it's also a Toshiba. Yeah, yeah, yeah. Ask me for any specs you need, and I can get those for you later. (It might also be helpful if you want to give a little instruction on how I can find out any answers to your question.)

Thanks!