Desktop icons & taskbar disappeared on XP - please, please help me!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi all
I'm a newbie and I'm in absolute despair because of this problem. I hope someone can come to my rescue because I've ran out of things to try. I'm using Windows XP OS and I had Norton Antivirus on it but I've had lots of problems with it so decided to try something else. At a friend's suggestion, I uninstalled Norton and downloaded a free trial version of AVG. It loaded up fine and installed but when I rebooted, It wouldn't let me log back on either on my own profile or on the guest profile. It would say "logging on" and then "logging off" and log me back out. I managed to get in, in safe mode and uninstalled AVG. I rebooted again and it allowed me to log on but all my desktop icons and my taskbar had disappeared. My desktop pic was still there but that was all. I tried right clicking to restore the desktop but it wouldn't allow it so I pressed ctrl alt & del and called up the task manager. That worked fine and I was able to open up programs through the task manager but couldn't restore the items back to the desktop. After doing a google search about my problem I found a few suggestions to try. I went to the processes list on task manager and looked for explorer.exe but it wasn't there, I then tried to manually open explorer by selecting file, new task and typing in explorer.exe. I got an error message saying windows could not find it. Then I tried to restore my system to an earlier date by going through the task manager into my start menu and trying the system restore but it wouldn't let me as the only date highlighted was today (after all my problems had started).
I really have no clue as to how to fix this problem so I hope someone out there can help me.

Many Thanks

L xxx

Check the Shell value for Winlogon in your registry.

In Safe Mode
Click on Start-->Run-->Regedit

And locate: (by expanding the + signs)
  • HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
  • SOFTWARE