eMachines T1742 shutting down unexpectedly

Status
Not open for further replies.

MarcFOnline

Hey folks... another eMachines headache to throw into the mix just to keep things interesting.

My parents have an eMachines T1742 that they bought about three years ago -- I was not too thrilled when they showed me their new computer, since they know I'm a tech guy (who knows better than to buy an eMachine) and they never consulted me about it. :) But I was off in college at the time, so no big deal, they just didn't want to interrupt my studies, I suppose...

Anyways, over the past few weeks it's taken up the nasty habit of *almost* shutting down at irregular intervals. It doesn't turn ALL the way off -- the NumLock light is still lit on the keyboard and I can still hear a fan operating inside the chassis -- but the optical drive isn't getting any power, and the monitor, hard disk, and power light are all off.

My first inclination was that my folks unknowingly enabled automatic standby or hibernation and the computer was having problems waking up, but a quick inspection revealed that wasn't the case. The power settings just turn the monitor off after a half-hour of idle time, but everything else stays on. I also checked Event Viewer, and there were no errors or warnings that would indicate anything out-of-the-ordinary. Then the computer "turned off" on me while I was using it, so that pretty much ruled out the "this only happens when the computer is idle" hypothesis.

Knowing the issues that eMachines PSUs have, my next solution was that it had to be the power supply. I replaced the crappy stock Bestec 250-watt PSU with a 430-watt model from CoolerMaster. Unfortunately, the problem persists with the new PSU.