HDD Regenerator - need help with

Status
Not open for further replies.

nork

Does anyone here have any experience with this program? It is supposed to repair bad hard drives. I have the program up and running right now with a bad 40 gig hard drive. The problem is that it is going very very slow. It has taken a day to go thru only one gig.It shows a whole lot of bad sectors.
I have the drive set up as the only drive on my test pc, which i have set up on a desk, running win xp. Bios sees the drive but fdisk reports no fixed disk, thats why i went to HDD Regenerator, but this is my first time running it.

If anyone has experience with this program can you tell me:

Am i doing anything wrong? HDD Regenerator did identify the drive correctly before i started running the repair part of the program.
I dont have a whole lot of ram in my test machine, would adding ram help?
The program lists a ton of bad sectors but under that list it says "0" for repaired sectors. Does the program itself wait til it has gone thru the entire drive before it begins to repair bad sectors?
Will the program speed up at some point?

Thanks for your help.

Is it a full version or a demo beacuse "If the first found bad sector has been successfully regenerated , then you can use the registered version to regenerate all bad sectors on your hard drive. If the first bad sector has not been successfully regenerated, then replace your hard disk drive as soon as possible."

Also were you trying to reformat the drive with fdisk?

It is a full version. The hard drive is an extra drive that belongs to a friend of mine.

You cant reformat a hard drive using fdisk.
You can format a hard drive using a win98 boot disk and the format command or use win xp home or pro, but fdisk doesnt format hard drives, it only partitions them.
Fdisk is also a good diagnostic. When fdisk tells you there is no fixed disk either the disk is bad or needs formatting. In this case its a bad disk i am trying to repair.