Help overclocking RAM & CPU and finding best compromise

Status
Not open for further replies.

deeps1987

hey all,
I'm pretty new to overclocking, but i know the basics, i have only ever overclocked my CPU, not my RAM to match, which I'm assuming hits performance, I'm hoping to change that with your help :D

Basic Specs:
Intel Quad Core Q6600 G0 @ 3.96Ghz (440 X 9) (Watercooled)
OCZ Reaper 8500 1066Mhz (4 X 1GB Sticks) with additional cooling
ASUS Blitz Forumlar DDR2 P35 (Watercooled)

iv heard that quad cores use more bandwidth, so a higher FSB is preferable, so I'm thinking of trying (500 X 8) giving me a CPU speed of 4Ghz

but now it gets confusing with the RAM, do i got for all out max Mhz or tighter timings? or compromise with both?

any ideas or suggestions, i don't mind loosing some of my CPU speed if it
increases overall performance, i just want the CPU and RAM to work well together, i dont mind underclocking/overclocking either

Thanks in advance

thanks for that, iv been browsing through, but most of the guides seem to be really out of date, and i was hoping to get advice for my particular hardware setup.

hey yeah at stock its 1066Mhz

but heres a screenshot of it when its overclocked and running a 4Ghz CPU

4005Mhz.jpg

So you have an fsb of 1780, hmm at 1066 you're way OCing the Ram. Shouldn't you be running DDR3-1800 or 3/5 ram ratio?

Ok so maybe you could help me understand this better.
You have an fsb of 445, so quad pumped databus gives 4X445=1780 resultant fsb. Now what I thought I understood was ram is rated at maximum input freq, so DDR2-1066 should be sitting on a resultant fsb of 1066, which is 1066/4 = a core fsb of 266.

But what you're saying is 1066 is (by DDR) really 1066/2=533 core fsb, so that 533X4=2132 resultant fsb. So you're running 1780, well within 2132 max? But then why bother using 5/6 ratio?