IDE cabling problem?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi,

I'm the kind of one-step-up-from-noob that knows just enough to get into trouble, and not enough to get out of it.

A few years back I graduated from upgrading to building my own system (and not very well apparently). It is based on an Intel D865PERL MB and has 2 HDs, 2 CDs and a floppy.

The 2 HDs share an 80 strand cable as master and slave (designated C & F) and the 2 CDs share another (designated D & E). I immediately ran into a problem with the CDs not working. In trying to pinpoint the problem I eventually removed one of the HDs from the HD cable and attached one of the CDs in its place. The CD then worked. I figured the problem was with the CD cable, bought a new one and got it to work (sort of - one CD then worked, the other still didn't, but I put off playing with the problem on hold, since I wasn't copying between them, didn't need to use both at once, and was fed up with the protracted down time).

The other day i went to install a new program and the CD that had been working now wasn't. No other program or data CDs work either.

I took a working CD drive out of my wife's comp and installed it. no luck.

I changed the cable. no luck.

I googled the problem and checked various forums (inclusing this one) for similar problems and followed the routine advice (unistall using device manager and then let the plug & play system resintall them, update drivers, etc.) no luck.

Both CD drives show up as working properly in device manager properties, but they just won't read the data off the disks. When I insert a disk, it spins, I get the reading CD spinning disk cursor icon in windows (XP prof), but it never gets to autorun. In my computer, opening the drive shows no files.

I'm out of ideas. Any suggestings for getting the drive(s) working would be greatly appreciated.

You're absolutely 100% positive you have pin 1 to pin 1 on every single IDE connector in that system? CD1 to CD2 to motherboard?