IDE is cutting or grounding my periphial power?

Status
Not open for further replies.

bokenbladebum

Greetings. I am new to computer construction, and am in need of some answers. I just purchased a new psu, cpu, vga, and mobo to upgrade my current setup. Actually, the only things I'm keeping from my old system are my CD drive, DVD drive, and HDD. Now, onto my dilemna. I bolted everything into place and secured all power cables to their respective slots on my periphials (cd, dvd, and hdd) and connected my 80 pin IDE cables into their respective periphials (again, cd, dvd, and hdd). When I throw the switch (supply power) my fans kick on and my built in temp. monitor (in the front) kicks on, but my hdd, cd, and dvd don't. Why is this happening? How can I remedy the situation?

Specs:
PSU-Xclio goodpower 500w
CPU-AMD Athlon xp 3700+
MOBO-Asrock dual sata 939
HDD-(not sata/sataII) Samsung 160gb
RAM-PNY 184pin pc3200 (512mb) & Samsung 184pin pc3200 (512mb).
VGA-Nvidia 6800xt

ps if this is in the wrong forum, let me know. Also, if I need to supply any more information, please let me know.

it sounds like:

1. your RAM is damaged, improperly installed, or incompatible -try booting with just 1 stick of RAM (try them each seperately)

2. your mobo is shorting out -make sure that you only put standoffs where they belong. this is a common first time builder's mistake. remove the mobo and table test it to rule out this possibility.

3. your PSU or MOBO is dead, but it is more likely to be #1 or #2

BTW.... you have an Athlon64, not an AthlonXP

Your mobo must be grounding itself on the case. Check the stand-offs and make sure you used the insulating washer if they came with the new mobo.
Also make sure the CPU 4pin molex connector is plugged into the mobo.

lol kirok, I beat you by 1 second.. hehe :)

I have the same mobo, it does not come with nor does it need any insulating washers. The mounting holes have a metal ring around them which are supposed to be grounded.